Mar 21, 2018

Book Review: Daughters of the Storm




35457253


Five very different sisters team up against their stepbrother to save their kingdom in this Norse-flavored fantasy epic--the start of a new series in the tradition of Naomi Novik, Peter V. Brett, and Robin Hobb.

FIVE ROYAL SISTERS. ONE CROWN.

They are the daughters of a king. Though they share the same royal blood, they could not be more different. Bluebell is a proud warrior, stronger than any man and with an ironclad heart to match. Rose's heart is all too passionate: She is the queen of a neighboring kingdom, who is risking everything for a forbidden love. The twins: vain Ivy, who lives for admiration, and zealous Willow, who lives for the gods. And Ash, who is discovering a dangerous talent for magic that might be a gift--or a curse.

But when their father is stricken by a mysterious ailment, they must come together on a desperate journey to save him and prevent their treacherous stepbrother from seizing the throne. Their mission: find the powerful witch who can cure the king. But to succeed on their quest, they must overcome their differences, and hope that the secrets they hide from one another and the world are never brought to light. Because if this royal family breaks, it could destroy the kingdom.

* * * * * 

I very enjoyed being swept away into another world.  One that is having issues with an upstart religion trying to take over and it's one that doesn't feel that women are good for anything but having children.  And one of the sisters just happens to be devoted to it.  Of course if you aren't able to relate to Willow there are four other sisters that just happen to be as different from each other as night is to day.  My favorite sister just happened to be Ash.

I found DAUGHTERS OF THE STORM to be very well written with each of the sister's personalities well thought out and portrayed.  Each sister is given her share of the story so that you are able to see the happenings from all of their points of view.  Each of them has the ability to strengthen or destroy the fragile peace that the countries in the region currently enjoy.  

I do feel that my readers who enjoy epic fantasy will enjoy DAUGHTERS OF THE STORM.  The sisters do undergo a lot of changes and growth during the time of their father's illness.  There is danger, love, treachery and new alliances founded which will keep you entertained.  The conclusion is satisfying yet will leave you waiting impatiently for the next book in the series.

***I received  this book for free from Net Galley in exchange for a fair and honest review.  All opinions are my own and not influenced by the publisher or author. 

0 comments:

Post a Comment

What's on your mind? Let's chat...