Apr 10, 2018

Book Review: The Longest Silence

A killer stole her voice. Now she's ready to take it back. Don't miss the chilling Shades of Death series from USA TODAYbestselling author Debra Webb.

Joanna Guthrie was free. She had been for eighteen years--or so she needed everyone to believe. What really happened during the longest fourteen days of her life, when she and two other women were held captive by a dangerous serial killer, wasn't something she could talk about. Not after what they had to do to survive.

But when more women go missing in an eerily similar manner, Jo knows her prolonged silence will only seal their fates. She's finally ready to talk; she just needs someone to listen. FBI special agent Tony LeDoux can't deny he finds Jo compelling--he's just not sure he believes her story. But with the clock ticking, Jo will do anything to convince him, even if it means unearthing long-buried secrets that will land them squarely in the crosshairs of the killer...

* * * * *

This is a series that I have been following since the very first book and I do have to say that each book has only gotten better.  If you are interested in my reviews of the other books in the series, just click on the titles.

Now Ms Webb is quite the accomplished writer and if you would like to check out all of her series just click here to be taken to her website.

THE LONGEST SILENCE centers about Tony who was one of the secondary characters in the first few books but one whose story I wanted to learn more about.  His niece has been taken and it is going to take all his skill along with help from Joanna to find her.

This book has all the tension and sharp turns that you would expect from Ms. Webb.  We also are given quite the insight into the characters that make it all the easier to relate and care for them.  The pacing is taut, the dialogue on point and goal is one that we can all cheer for.

I do recommend this book to any of my readers who enjoy a well written romantic suspense which is draw you into the story.  While this book is the fifth in the series,  it is well enough written to enjoy on its own though I do recommend starting from the beginning of the series.

***I received  this book for free from Net Galley in exchange for a fair and honest review.  All opinions are my own and not influenced by the publisher or author. 


Post a Comment

What's on your mind? Let's chat...