Mar 21, 2018

Book Review: Daughters of the Storm


Five very different sisters team up against their stepbrother to save their kingdom in this Norse-flavored fantasy epic--the start of a new series in the tradition of Naomi Novik, Peter V. Brett, and Robin Hobb.


They are the daughters of a king. Though they share the same royal blood, they could not be more different. Bluebell is a proud warrior, stronger than any man and with an ironclad heart to match. Rose's heart is all too passionate: She is the queen of a neighboring kingdom, who is risking everything for a forbidden love. The twins: vain Ivy, who lives for admiration, and zealous Willow, who lives for the gods. And Ash, who is discovering a dangerous talent for magic that might be a gift--or a curse.

But when their father is stricken by a mysterious ailment, they must come together on a desperate journey to save him and prevent their treacherous stepbrother from seizing the throne. Their mission: find the powerful witch who can cure the king. But to succeed on their quest, they must overcome their differences, and hope that the secrets they hide from one another and the world are never brought to light. Because if this royal family breaks, it could destroy the kingdom.

* * * * * 

I very enjoyed being swept away into another world.  One that is having issues with an upstart religion trying to take over and it's one that doesn't feel that women are good for anything but having children.  And one of the sisters just happens to be devoted to it.  Of course if you aren't able to relate to Willow there are four other sisters that just happen to be as different from each other as night is to day.  My favorite sister just happened to be Ash.

I found DAUGHTERS OF THE STORM to be very well written with each of the sister's personalities well thought out and portrayed.  Each sister is given her share of the story so that you are able to see the happenings from all of their points of view.  Each of them has the ability to strengthen or destroy the fragile peace that the countries in the region currently enjoy.  

I do feel that my readers who enjoy epic fantasy will enjoy DAUGHTERS OF THE STORM.  The sisters do undergo a lot of changes and growth during the time of their father's illness.  There is danger, love, treachery and new alliances founded which will keep you entertained.  The conclusion is satisfying yet will leave you waiting impatiently for the next book in the series.

***I received  this book for free from Net Galley in exchange for a fair and honest review.  All opinions are my own and not influenced by the publisher or author. 

Mar 19, 2018

Book Review: A Merciful Secret

A pair of ritual murders could expose Mercy Kilpatrick to something terrifying: her own past…

Raised off the grid by survivalists, Mercy Kilpatrick believed in no greater safeguard than the backwoods of Oregon. Unforgiven by her father for abandoning the fold for the FBI, Mercy still holds to her past convictions. They’re in her blood. They’re her secrets—as guarded as her private survival retreat hidden away in the foothills.

In a cabin near her hideaway, Mercy encounters a young girl whose grandmother is dying from multiple knife wounds. Hundreds of miles away, a body is discovered slashed to death in a similar way. The victims—a city judge and an old woman living in the woods—couldn’t be more different. With the help of police chief Truman Daly, Mercy must find the killer before the body count rises. Mercy knows that the past has an edge on her. So does her family. How can she keep her secrets now…when they’re the only things that can save her?

* * * * *

And another small town that I have fallen in love with.  Or perhaps I should say that I have fallen for a few of the residents namely Truman, Mercy and most of her family though this book has added a few more onto that list.  

A MERCIFUL SECRET is the third book in the series that has kept me entertained and glued to my iPad.  What really sets this book apart from the rest of the series is the leaps and bounds that Mercy grows in this book.  She closed down emotionally when her father disowned her when she was eighteen.  She was able to let Truman in some but wasn't able to completely trust him.  Until this book and some of the happenings which force Mercy to look inside and face her fears.

I do highly recommend this book to any lovers of romantic suspense though if this is your first one, I do recommend that you start at the beginning of the series as it will add depth to the characters.  A MERCIFUL SECRET has an interesting plot that brings in Wicca and witchcraft with enough twists and turns that you won't want to set the book aside until the very end.  Followers of the series will get a chance to check on on some of their favorite characters and if you are not a follower, well what are you waiting for?

***I received this book at no charge from NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. All opinions expressed within this review are my own. 
Mar 18, 2018

Book Review: Baby, I'm Howling For You

WELCOME TO ALPHAVILLE, where the she-wolves and alpha-males play. . .for keeps.

Renny Landry is a wolf on the run. Pursued by a shapeshifting stalker and his slobbering pack of killer coyotes, she is forced to flee her job as a librarian to find sanctuary in the wooded hills of Alpha, Washington. A well-secluded safe space for troubled shifters, Alpha is Renny’s last hope. But the first person she meets there is a gorgeous alpha male with fiery eyes, fierce tattoos, and one ferocious appetite—for her…

Mick Fischer thought he left his past behind when he moved to Alpha. But fate has a way of biting him in the tail when a female wolf shows up on his property. Wounded, desperate—and disarmingly hot—Renny brings out the snarling, protective alpha beast in Mick like no other woman he’s known. Can these two haunted, hunted wolves manage to mate for life…even as the deadliest past demons howl at their heels?

* * * * *

I don't know why but I am a sucker for stories about small towns in the Pacific Northwest especially when the folks in the town don't quite fit the stereotype of small townsfolk. The inhabitants of Alpha definitely fit that description.  Alpha Washington is tale that shifters tell each other, a place where they will fit in. 

It's been a few years since I have stumbled across one of Ms Warren's books and I am berating myself for that because her books are just that good.   I became immediately engaged with the story as it opens with Renny on the run for her life.  And the characters are so real that they just seem to jump off the page.  And the dialogue is sharp, and at times had me laughing hard enough that my ribs hurt.  This book reminded me why I fell in love with both paranormal romances and romantic suspenses.  

I do highly recommend this book to any of my readers who enjoy the paranormal.  There is enough suspense to keep you on the edge of your seat and characters that are easy to connect with.  And as a bonus, this is the first book in what looks to be a series well worth following. 

***I received this book at no charge from NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. All opinions expressed within this review are my own.